Profession: Producer

Producing a Low-Budget Film

Workshop by Manuel Silva

 

Manuel Fernando da Costa e Silva is a film director and a teacher at the Higher School of Arts in Porto, where he was recently elected president of the Board of Directors. He teaches Directing, Narrative Structures, Documentary and Screenplay. He has graduated from the same school with “Film and Video” major and from the Department of Multimedia Communication at Polytechnic Institute of Santarem. He received his Ph.D. at the University of Tras-os-Montes e Alto Douro province. His Ph.D. thesis was about the narrative structure of Portuguese cinema. Manuel Silva is a world-class specialist and he is often invited to be in the jury of many festivals (in Portugal, Romania, Spain, Belgium, Japan). He gives lectures as an invited professor at film and media oriented universities in different countries. He founded the International Film Schools Festival (MIFEC) in 2004, of which he is currently the director and the commissioner.

As the director and screenwriter he has worked on films “The return of the man who didn’t like to leave home” (1996), “The first time” (2000), “A time regained” (2002), “Panóias” (2005) and “1111” (2011, prize for the best film at the International Festival “Avanca”). He is currently working on the fiction film “The man who killed Amália Rodrigues” and the documentary “Die for Love.”

 

The workshop is about producing low-budget films. Making films today is easier than it was a few years ago. The use of new digital technologies of filming, editing and post-production makes it possible to produce films using very low budget. However, the simplification of technical aspects of the filmmaking process should not  and is not supposed to influence the quality of the final product; on the contrary, requirements to the film become harder to meet with every year. In his workshop, Manuel Silva considers the questions of prioritization of the artistic language and technology, combining aesthetics, ethics, and poetics of an image in filmmaking. The aim of the workshop is to present to young filmmakers the ideas that will allow them to create artistic works of high level in the conditions of low budget. As examples, short clips from the following films will be demonstrated at the workshop: “In Vanda’s Room” (dir. Pedro Costa, 2000), “Arena” (dir. João Salaviza, 2009), “1111” (dir. M. F. Costa e Silva, 2011), “Rafa” (dir. João Salaviza, 2012), “Redemption” (dir. Miguel Gomes, 2013).

Мастер-класс Мануэля Сильва “Продюсирование малобюджетного фильма” 2015

Профессия: продюсер

Продюсирование малобюджетного кино

Мастер-класс Мануэля Сильва

Мануэль Фернандо да Коста Е Сильва – кинорежиссер и преподаватель Высшей школы искусств Порту, президентом Совета директоров которой он был избран совсем недавно. Читает лекции по кинорежиссуре, сценарному мастерству и документалистике. В свое время окончил ту же школу по специальности «Кино и видео», факультет мультимедиакоммуникации Политехнического института Сантарене, а также получил докторскую степень в Университете Трас-ос-Монтес и Альто Дору. Его докторская диссертация была посвящена сюжетной структуре португальского кино. Специалист международного класса, он часто приглашается в жюри различных кинфестивалей (Португалия, Румыния, Испания, Бельгия, Япония). Как приглашенный профессор выступает с лекциями в университетах кино- и медианаправлений разных стран. В 2004 году основал Международный фестиваль киношкол (MIFEC), директором и комиссаром которого выступает по сей день.

В качестве режиссера и сценариста участвовал в создании фильмов «Возвращение человека, который не хотел уходить» (1996), «Первый раз» (2000), «Возвращенное время» (2002), «Панояш» (2005), «1111» (2010, приз за лучший фильм Международного фестиваля Avanca). Сейчас работает над игровым фильмом «Убийца Амалии Родригез» и над документальным фильмом «Смерть во имя любви».

Мастер-класс посвящен продюсированию малобюджетного кино. Снять кино сегодня – гораздо легче, чем еще несколько лет назад. Использование цифровых технологий в процессе съемки, монтажа и постпродакшена делает возможным создание фильма в условиях минимального финансирования. Однако упрощение технических аспектов кинопроцесса не должно и не может влиять на качество продукта – требования к нему, наоборот, с каждым годом повышаются. В своем мастер-классе Мануэль Сильва рассматривает вопросы приоретизации художественного языка по отношению к технологии, совмещения этики, эстетики и поэтики изображения в рамках кинопроектов. Цель мастер-класса – презентовать молодым кинодеятелям идеи, которые позволят создать произвденеия выского художественного уровня в условиях минимального финансирования. В качестве примеров на мастер-классе будут показаны отрывки из фильмов «В комнате Ванды» (режиссер Педро Коста, 2000), «Арена» (режиссер Жоао Салавиза, 2009), «1111» (режиссер Мануэль Сильва», 2011), «Рафа» (режиссер Жоао Салавиза, 2012), «Спасение» (режиссер Мигель Гомез, 2013).

Место проведения: Малый зал Дома кино

Часть 1: 2 декабря 17.10-20.10
Часть 2: 3 декабря  16.20-19.20