Ivan Golovnev

Director,screen-writer, producer

“To some extent, I have always find myself beside etnography. I’m from a family of scientists, and from the very childhood I went with my father to ethnographic expeditions. But I was never interested in the research task: what size is the stitch in the embroideries by craftswomen in a particular area or how it is customary to pray. I liked just to communicate with these Other people, to find between us and them something in common and different. It seems to me that only in dialogue we can understand the differences in our cultures. Years ago I did graduate from the history department with a degree in “ethnography”, but scientific mindset is alien for me. Historians and ethnographers are too fond of generalizations. And personality falls out of their focus. Instead I would like to witness specific people in specific situations. And artificial language of science is just like foreign to it. For me, the most important is the story, not history.”

 

 

 

Tiny Katerina (23’)

2004

This story tells about the life of a Khanty girl Katerina Moldanova in the taiga settlement, who closely observe and tries to understand the world around. Animals, birds, people – they are mysterious, but understandable, we can talk to them. Only that one day an oil derrick appears on the land, where Katerina lives.

 

 

Old Man Peter (26’)

2008

A life story of Peter Segnepov, a shaman and an old resident of the Khanty-Mansiysk taiga, who lives alone in a little chum in the upper reaches of the Kazim river. Peter Ivanovich is a man-spirit from mythological times.

 

 

Oil field (28’)

2012

The family of Vasily and Svetlana Pyak own a large herd of deer, on which they dote. But oilmen have arrived to Ugra and began to extract hydrocarbons. Unable to fight the invasion of civilization, the head of the family gets a job at the oil station.

Мастер-класс Ивана Головнева (Россия) 2014

Иван Головнев

Режиссер, сценарист, продюсер

«В определенной степени я все время шел рядом с этнографией. Я из семьи ученых, с детства ездил с отцом в этнографические экспедиции. Но меня никогда не интересовала исследовательская задача: какого размера стежок в вышивке делают мастерицы в том или ином районе, и как «правильно» принято молиться. Мне нравилось просто общаться с этими Другими людьми, находить между нами и ними что-то общее и различное. Мне кажется, что только в диалоге можно понять разницу культур.  В свое время я закончил истфак в университете по специальности «этнография», но научное мировоззрение – не мое. У историков и этнографов слишком много обобщений. Из фокуса выпадает личность. Мне же хочется видеть конкретных людей в конкретных ситуациях. И «цеховой» язык науки – как иностранный по отношению к этому. Для меня важнее, если выражаться по-английски, story, а не history».

Маленькая Катерина (23’)

2004

Это история о жизни хантыйской девочки Екатерины Молдановой на таежном стойбище, которая наблюдает и пытается понять окружающий мир. Звери, птицы, люди – таинственны, но понятны, с ними можно поговорить. Но однажды на земле, где живет Катерина, появляется нефтяная вышка.

Старик Петр (26’)

2008

Рассказ о жизни Петра Сенгепова – шаманствующего старожила ханты-мансийской тайги, который одиноко живет в чуме в верховьях реки Казым. Петр Иванович – это человек-образ, он родом из мифологического времени.

Месторождение (28’)

2012

У семьи Василия и Светланы Пяк крупное стадо оленей, в которых они души не чают. Но в Югру приехали нефтяники и стали добывать углеводороды. Не в силах бороться с нашествием цивилизации, глава семьи устраивается на работу на нефтяную станцию.