NON-FICTION FILMS AS “HUNT FOR REALITY”

WORKSHOP BY ELENA DEMIDOVA

lena Demidova (Russia) is a director, scriptwriter, operator, producer.

Was born in Orenburg. Has graduated from Bauman Moscow State Technical University. In 2006 has graduated from documentary films director’s courses “Real time – 2” based on International journalist school “Internews” (course masters – Marina Razbezhkina and Nikolay Izvolov).

Author of such films as “Living Water” (2006, Grand-prix of X International TV shows and films festival “The Golden tambourine”), “Ark” (2007, best debut award of Almaty film festival “Shaken’s Stars”), “Multiplication Table” (2007, Diploma of V International human rights documentary film festival Docudays.ua), “Cranberry Island” (2010, Diploma of CIS open film festival “Kinoshok”, special prize of International film festival “Message to a human”), “Liosha” (2011, Prize of International human rights film festival “Stalker”, prize of Russian ecological film festival “Hope meridian”, participant of festivals in Brussels, Poznan, Bilbao, Pyarnu), “Man’s choice” (2014), “Touch of the wind” (2016, prizes of “Window to Europe”, “East-West”, “Eurasian bridge”) and others.

Lesha (32’)

2011

Summer of 2010. Russia. Forest fires. Lesha’s village has burnt down almost completely, only some burnt trees and piles of bricks instead of houses left. New houses have been built for the survivors in another village 20 kilometers away. But Lesha doesn’t want to leave. We are walking with him through the burnt down village to feed a cat and a dog living at his house ruins.

 

Sasha, Lena, and the Iron Dragon (46‘)

2012

Old panel houses are being demolished. New modern excavator crumples concrete blocks like cardboard. It looks a bit like a dragon with a long neck. It’s almost finished with a house next to Sasha and Lena’s and will inevitably get to their house in a couple of days. But they have nowhere to move, Sasha’s relatives have dispossessed him of his apartment through some legal schemes, and Lena is from Moldavia and has no legal place of living. For three months now they have been living without water, electricity, and sewage. Sasha’s sister has agreed to find him a room on the condition that he leaves Lena behind. But he isn’t taking this deal. And the ‘iron dragon’ keeps coming…

Мастер-класс Елены Демидовой: «Документальное кино как “охота за реальностью”». 2016

ПРОФЕССИЯ: режиссер документального кино

Документальное кино как “охота за реальностью”

МАСТЕР-КЛАСС ЕЛЕНЫ ДЕМИДОВОЙ

Елена Демидова (Россия) – режиссер, сценарист, оператор, продюсер.

Родилась в Оренбурге. Закончила МВТУ имени Н.Э. Баумана. В 2006 окончила курсы режиссеров документального кино “Реальное время 2” при Международной школе журналистики Internews (мастерская Марины Разбежкиной и Николая Изволова).

Автор фильмов «Живая вода» (2006, Гран-при Х Международного фестиваля телевизионных фильмов и программ “Золотой бубен”), «Ковчег» (2007, приз за лучший дебют алмаатинского кинофестиваля “Звезды Шакена”), «Таблица умножения» (2007, диплом V международного фестиваля документального кино о правах человека Docudays.ua), “Клюквенный остров” (2010, диплом Открытого кинофестиваля стран СНГ “Киношок”, специальный приз международного кинофестиваля “Послание к человеку”, «Леша» (2011, приз международного фестиваля фильмов о правах человека “Сталкер”, приз Всероссийского экологического кинофестиваля “Меридиан надежды”, участник кинофестивалей в Брюсселе, Познани, Бильбао, Пярну), «Мужской выбор» (2014), «Прикосновение-ветра» (2016, призы кинофестивалей “Окно в Европу”, “Восток-Запад”, “Евразийский мост” ) и других.

Дата и время проведения: 1 декабря в 15.00

Место: Малый зал Дома кино

Лёша (32’)

2011

Лето 2010 года. Россия. Пожары. Деревня Леши сгорела почти полностью, остались только обгорелые деревья и кучки кирпичей на месте домов. Дома погорельцам построили в другом поселке за двадцать километров отсюда. Но Леша не хочет уезжать. Мы идем с ним по сгоревшей деревне кормить кошку и собаку, которые живут у него на пепелище.

Саша, Лена и железный дракон (46‘)

2012

Разрушаются старые панельные «хрущевки». Новый современный экскаватор сминает бетонные блоки как картон. Он немного похож на дракона с длинной шеей. Он уже почти разрушил дом, соседний с тем, где живут Саша и Лена, через два-три дня неумолимо начнет перемалывать и их дом. Но им некуда съехать – из квартиры, где они живут, Сашу с помощью юридических махинаций выписали родственники, а Лена – молдаванка, вообще без жилья. Уже три месяца они живут без воды, без света, без канализации. Теперь сестра готова найти ему комнату, но без Лены. Саша не согласен. А «железный дракон» приближается…