Profession: Director of non-fiction films

Andreas Bolm (Germany) is a filmmaker, film editor, sound engineer

He studied at FAMU in Prague and at the documentary department of the University of Television and Film in Munich.

Jaba (37’)

2006

Zoli earns his livelihood abroad by skinning chinchillas in a Danish fur factory. The film begins with the story of Zoli’s return to the periphery, to the small Hungarian village of Jaba. Zoli’s family, settled gypsies, struggle to earn their living by hiring themselves out as day-labourers. For Zoli, Jaba has no work and no prospects, so he kills time and waits. Standstill. “Jaba” tells the story of survival in one of Europe’s poorest regions. A movie about the outsiders. The protagonists portray their own lives. A film that is as raw and poetic as the people themselves.

The Sleepers (37’)

2003

On a lonely farm in Southern Hungary, a sixty year old couple leads a dreary life punctuated by vain rituals: getting up in the morning, eating, going back to bed, and a little activity in the middle for a few animals to make sure that they stay alive. But the documented subject is not so much the tedious aspects of domestic existence as the empty emotions that it is intended to protect. Is it possible, without the aid of fiction,  to record the disappearance of love and its desertion in solitary memories? This is the Bekettian challenge taken up by this film, of sad and simple beauty.

All The Children But One (40’)

2008

Life for a child in this small Hungarian village is one of simple pleasures – bike rides, play fights and hunting for gorillas. But everyone has to grow up sometime, and the nearly idyllic world of the children is shattered sooner than expected when Karcsi, their playmate, dies just before his tenth birthday.

Now it’s up to Karcsi’s faithful friends to tell his story – how he loved lions and elephants, how he used to deliberately pronounce words in a funny way and how he wanted to become a doctor and develop a medicine to cure all the illnesses in the world. Fantasy and reality are blended together in equal measures as the children’s words keep Karcsi’s memory alive. They talk of going with their friend to the International Space Station and taking a spaceship to Mars. And they tell us how one day he lost a tooth and the wound started to bleed and didn’t stop. This is a story of the loss of childhood – an affectionate yet unsentimental goodbye.

Мастер-класс Андреаса Больма: «Неигровое и игровое кино: относительность границ» 2016

Неигровое и игровое кино: относительность границ

МАСТЕР-КЛАСС АНДРЕАСА БОЛЬМА

Андреас Больм (Германия) – кинематографист, режиссер монтажа, звукорежиссер. Учился в Школе кино и телевидения Академии драматических искусств (FAMU) в Праге и на факультете документалистики Университета Кино и Телевидения в Мюнхене.

Дата и время начала мастер-класса: 3 декабря 18.00

Место проведения: Большой зал Дома кино

Джаба (37’)

2006

Золи зарабатывает себе средства к существованию за границей, снимая шкуры с шиншилл в датской меховой фабрике. Фильм начинается с рассказа о возвращении Золи в глушь, в маленькую венгерскую деревню Джаба. Семья Золи, оседлые цыгане, старающиеся изо всех сил заработать себе на жизнь, нанимаясь в качестве поденщиков. Для Золи в Джабе нет работы и нет перспектив, поэтому он убивает время и ждет. Застой. “Джаба” рассказывает историю выживания в одном из самых бедных регионов Европы. Это фильм об аутсайдерах, в котором герои изображают собственную жизнь. Фильм такой же сырой и поэтичный, как и сами люди.

Спящие (37’)

2003

На безлюдной ферме в Южной Венгрии старая пара шестидесяти лет ведет тоскливую жизнь, наполненную пустыми ритуалами: встать утром, поесть, вернуться обратно в постель и провести немного времени рядом с немногочисленными животными – просто чтобы убедиться, что они все еще существуют. Но документируемый предмет – не столько скучные аспекты обыденного существования, сколько пустые эмоции, которые оно намерено защищать. Возможно ли без использования вымысла записать исчезновение любви и её превращение в одинокие воспоминания? Это беккетовская проблема рассматривается в фильме о грустной и простой красоте.

Все дети, кроме одного (40′)

2008

Жизнь детей в этой маленькой венгерской деревне состоит из простых удовольствий – кататься на велосипеде, играть в сражения и притворно охотиться на горилл. Но всем когда-то приходится взрослеть, и этот почти идеальный мир детей рушится раньше, чем ожидалось, когда Карси, их друг детства, умирает незадолго до своего десятого дня рождения.

Лучший друг Карси рассказывает его историю – как он любил львов и слонов, как он намеренно смешно произносил слова и как он хотел стать врачом и разработать лекарство, чтобы вылечить все болезни в мире. Фантазия и реальность смешиваются вместе в равной степени, в детских словах память о Карси жива. Дети рассказывают о поездке со своим другом на Международную космическую станцию и полете на Марс на  космическом корабле. И они рассказывают, как однажды он потерял зуб и рана начала кровоточить и не прекращала.

Это история о потере детства – нежное, еще не сентиментальное прощание.