How to get an international film grant. Practice without theory
Master class by Maria Ivanova (Russia), Grant Buro company

At the master class, Maria Ivanova will share her experience working with international funds, film companies, and private investors. She will talk about how the Grant Buro project works and by what principle projects for grants are selected. Why do European and American filmmakers know how to get grants, but not Russian. What needs to be done to increase your chances of getting grants. She will touch upon the problem of financing independent and debut films and together with the participants will try to answer the question – why is it not customary to give grants for film production in Russia?

Maria Ivanova (Masha Zeyd) – producer, director, journalist, founder of the Grant Buro project and the Buta Films film company. She graduated from Moscow State University, department of journalism in 2006. Head of Buta Films film company (www.butafilms.ru), organizer of international events in the field of culture and art. She considers the short film Sonuncu (The Last) her most important work. The film became a participant in the main short-film competition of the 67th Cannes Film Festival, was shown at 84 international film festivals and received 9 awards. In 2016, Maria came up with and organized the first festival of Russian cinema in Lebanon with the support of the Russian Foreign Ministry. The festival was attended by 5,000 viewers, 12 Russian films were shown. In 2017, Maria Ivanova presented her debut directorial work – a documentary film Escaping the War about Syrian refugees. The film received a special prize from the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees in Russia and the main prize of film critics as part of the Stalker film festival. In 2018, she launched two series for the Internet platforms The Corner Table and Pro Gogol. In August 2019, she started the Grant Buro company that provides assistance in obtaining international grants for film production.

Grant Buro (www.grantburo.ru) is the first project in Russia that helps to receive international grants for film production. We help to prepare a strategy for submitting applications for grants, collect and draw up documents in the required format depending on the conditions of the grant, apply for a grant, correspond with the grantor and, upon receipt of the grant, conclude a grant agreement. The Grant Buro project has its own film company Buta Films.

Co-host of the master class Maria Kobzareva is the executive producer of Grant Buro, a graduate of the British Higher School of Design and Chelsea College of Arts London. Master of Arts. Curator of exhibitions and educational projects in London, coordinator of several international biennials and art shows. In the past – an illustrator and artist, including in the genre of video art.

Co-host of the master class Olga Artemyeva – graduate of the screenwriting and cinematography department of VGIK, candidate of art history. Screenwriter, film critic, creative producer. Collaborated with several film companies and film festivals in New York and Los Angeles. Since 2007, she has been working at the Moscow International Film Festival, since 2015, she has been a selector of short film programs at the Moscow International Film Festival. Since 2018, she also oversees the program of modern film screenings at the Museum of Cinema.

Как получить международный грант на кино. Практика без теории
Мастер-класс Марии Ивановой (Россия), компания Grant Buro

На мастер-классе Мария Иванова поделится своим опытом работы с международными фондами, кинокомпаниями, частными инвесторами. Расскажет, как работает проект Grant Buro и по какому принципу отбираются проекты для грантов. Почему европейские и американские кинематографисты умеют получать гранты, а российские нет. Что нужно сделать, чтобы увеличить свои шансы в получении грантов. Она затронет проблему финансирования независимых и дебютных фильмов, а также вместе с участниками попытается ответить на вопрос – почему в России не принято давать гранты на кинопроизводство.

Мария Иванова (Маша Зейд) – продюсер, режиссер, журналист основатель проекта Grant Buro и кинокомпании Buta Films. Окончила МГУ, факультет журналистки в 2006 году. Руководитель кинокомпании Buta Films (www.butafilms.ru), организатор международных мероприятий в области культуры и искусства. Знаковой работой считает художественный короткометражный фильм «Sonuncu» («Последний»). Картина стала участником основного конкурса короткого метра 67-го Каннского кинофестиваля, была показана на 84 международных кинофестивалях и получила 9 наград. В 2016 году Мария придумала и организовала первый фестиваль российского кино в Ливане при поддержке МИДа России. Фестиваль посетило 5000 зрителей, было показано 12 российских фильмов. В 2017 году Мария Иванова представила свою дебютную режиссерскую работу – документальный фильм о сирийских беженцах «Бежать от войны». Картина получила специальный приз от Управления Верховного Комиссара ООН по делам беженцев в России и главный приз кинокритиков в рамках фестиваля «Сталкер». В 2018 году запустила два сериала для интернет-платформ «Столик в углу» и «Pro Gogol». В августе 2019 года открыла компанию Grant Buro – помощь в получении международных грантов на кинопроизводство.

Компания Grant Buro (www.grantburo.ru) – это первый в России проект, который помогает получить международные гранты на кинопроизводство. Мы помогаем подготовить стратегию подачи на гранты, собрать и оформить документы по нужному формату в зависимости от условий гранта, подать на грант, вести переписку с грантодателем и при получении гранта, заключить договор на грант. У проекта Grant Buro есть своя кинокомпания Buta Films.
Со-ведущая мастер-класса Мария Кобзарева – исполнительный продюсер Grant Buro, выпускница Британской высшей школы дизайна и Chelsea College of Arts London. Магистр искусств. Куратор выставок и образовательных проектов в Лондоне, координатор нескольких международных биеннале и арт-шоу. В прошлом — иллюстратор и художник, в том числе и в жанре видео-арта.

Со-ведущая мастер-класса Ольга Артемьева – выпускница сценарно-киноведческого факультета ВГИК, кандидат искусствоведения. Сценарист, кинокритик, креативный продюсер. Сотрудничала с несколькими кинокомпаниями и кинофестивалями в Нью-Йорке и Лос-Анджелесе. С 2007 работает на Московским международном кинофестивале, с 2015 – отборщик программ короткометражных фильмов на ММКФ. С 2018 – также курирует программу современных кинопоказов в Музее кино.