History

The festival “Kinoproba” has place in Yekaterinburg since 2004. Moscow is not a random place for the festival of young filmmakers, so here in Yekaterinburg was the famous school of the Ural animation and documentary films. Ural animation is one of the most famous in Russia and the world. There were such directors as Aleksandre Petrov (winner of the “Oscar” for the film “The Old Man and the Sea”), Alexey Haritidi (Golden Palm at Cannes for his film “Gagarin”), etc. The city has a unique children’s animation school “Attraction”  headed  by Sergey Aynutdinov. In fiction films Alexey Fedorchenko and  Vasiliy Sigarev made ​​their awards at national and international festivals of class “A”.

During the first three years of competition in the festival “Kinoproba” consisted only of animated films. Since 2007, the festival is expanding its borders and the program also includes a short fiction films, and since 2008 – a documentary. Since 2010, in the “Kinoproba” appeared contests for non-professionals (for example competition “Mobile Cinema” with MTS workshop on documentary film in conjunction with the U.S. Consulate General in Yekaterinburg, the laboratory “Hunt for the reality: the epic poetry, drama created by initiative of Fund of Boris Yeltsin in 2012).

The success of the festival supported by the introduction of “Kinoproba” in reference Russian film festivals. The festival  opened such new names in the world of animation, as Elizabeth Skvortsova, author of the collection of cartoon “Lullabies of the World” (Moscow), Zoe Kireyeva, winner of numerous international awards for her debut “Fool girl” (Yekaterinburg), etc. The audience have the unique opportunity to discover films of young filmmakers, film of students whose work is not duplicated yet.

An important component of the festival is working with young viewers. In last festivals children and their parents have met with Leonid Nosyrev, the author of the cartoon “Antoshka”, Denis Chernov – TV series “Smeshariki”, Andrei Khrzhanovsky –  author of “The Ballad of the King’s sandwich” , Lisa Skvortsova –  the author of a cycle of cartoon “Lullabies of the world.”

Annually among guests and jury members of “Kinoproba” are world-renowned filmmakers. So in 2012 the festival jury headed by film director Andrei Zvyagintsev, in 2011 to the festival came John Rapse -director of the Academy of Screen Arts at Edith Cowan University, Perth, Western Australia, the nominee of the youth ‘Oscar’, Member of the Advisory Board of the Oscar in the category “Best foreign language film “Greg Helvi, in 2010 a guest of the festival was the creator of the studio Aardman Animations David Sproxton.

In 2009 documentary from the United States conducted a workshop to those who wish to make a film, for 4 days was shot and edited 4 films about Yekaterinburg. In 2010 in the festival was performed a competition of mobile cinema. The winning films were shown at the closing ceremony of the festival.

История

Фестиваль «Кинопроба» проводится в Екатеринбурге с 2004 года. Екатеринбург — не случайное место проведения фестиваля молодых кинематографистов, т.к. именно здесь сложилась знаменитая школа уральской анимации и документального кино. Уральская анимация — одна из самых известных в России и мире. Отсюда вышли такие режиссеры, как Александр Петров (обладатель «Оскара» за фильм «Старик и море»), Алексей Харитиди (Золотая пальмовая ветвь в Каннах за фильм «Гагарин») и др. В городе работает уникальная детская анимационная школа «Аттракцион» под руководством Сергея Айнутдинова. В игровом кино заявили о себе наградами на Всероссийских  и Международных фестивалях класса «А» Алексей Федорченко, Василий Сигарев.

В течение первых трех лет в конкурс фестиваля «Кинопроба» входили только анимационные фильмы. С 2007 года Фестиваль расширяет свои границы и включает в программу также короткометражное игровое кино, а с 2008 — документальное. С 2010 года в программе «Кинопробы» появились конкурсы для непрофессионалов (например, конкурс «Мобильного кино» совместно с МТС, воркшоп по документальному кино совместно с Генеральным консульством США в Екатеринбурге, лаборатория «Охота за реальностью: эпос, лирика, драма» по инициативе Фонда Бориса Ельцина в 2012 году и так далее).

Успешность работы фестиваля подтверждается внесением «Кинопробы» в справочник кинофестивалей России. Фестиваль открыл такие новые имена в мире анимации, как Елизавета Скворцова, автор сборника мультфильмов «Колыбельные мира» (Москва), Зоя Киреева, обладательница множества международных наград за дебют «Девочка-дура» (Екатеринбург) и др. Зрители фестиваля имеют уникальную возможность познакомиться с фильмами молодых кинематографистов, студентов киновузов, чьи работы пока не тиражируются.

Важная составляющая фестиваля – работа с маленькими зрителями. На прошлых фестивалях дети и их родители могли встретиться с Леонидом Носыревым, автором мультфильма «Антошка», Денисом Черновым – сериал «Смешарики», Андреем Хржановским, автором «Баллады о королевском бутерброде», Лизой Скворцовой, автором цикла мультфильмов «Колыбельные мира».

На «Кинопробу» в качестве гостей и членов жюри ежегодно приезжают известные в мире кинематографисты. Так в 2012 году жюри фестиваля возглавил кинорежиссер Андрей Звягинцев, в 2011 году на фестиваль приезжал Директор Академии экранных искусств при университете Эдит Кован, г. Перт, штат западная Австралия Джон Рапси, номинант молодежного «Оскара», Член экспертного совета премии Оскар в номинации «Лучший фильм на иностранном языке» Грег Хелви, в 2010 году гостем фестиваля стал создатель студии Aardman Animations  Дэвид Спрокстон.

В 2009 году документалисты из США провели workshop с желающими снимать кино, за 4 дня было снято и смонтировано 4 фильма о Екатеринбурге. В 2010 году в рамках фестиваля прошел конкурс мобильного кино. Фильмы-победители были показаны на церемонии закрытия фестиваля.